RSO Wien
Shiva Feshareki / Margareta Ferek-Petric / Olga Neuwirth / Luna Alcalay


With Yalda Zamani at the helm of the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra (RSO Wien) in 2022, we have an artist who, in addition to conducting, stands out as a creator of experimental performances. The works for orchestra and soloists she is premiering at this concert come from the British-Iranian artist Shiva Feshareki, who also appears onstage as a turntable soloist, and the Croatian-Austrian composer and organizer Margareta Ferek-Petric, whose piano concerto is performed by Austrian-Romanian pianist Maria Radutu. In the other half of the concert, we pick up on a musikprotokoll tradition, presenting the Austrian premiere of a commissioned work by Olga Neuwirth: a double concerto for cello and percussion, featuring cellist Tanja Tetzlaff.

And because the word “whodentity” challenges the concept of identity, our program also includes a piece entitled Identifications. It was composed in 1970 and reworked in 1996 by composer who, in the 1970s, embodied the notorious 0.6 percent share of women in this profession practically by herself: Luna Alcalay, who was born in Zagreb in 1928 and died in Vienna in 2012. She comments posthumously on our theme of Whodentity through her Identifications.

7.10., 19:30

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Day pass 7.10., 18/14 euros

Premieres/Austrian premiere

Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra (RSO Wien)
Conductor: Yalda Zamani
Piano: Maria Radutu 
Cello: Tanja Tetzlaff
Percussion: Hans-Kristian Kjos Sørensen

The composition by Olga Neuwirth was commissioned by Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre de chambre de Paris, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, and ORF musikprotokoll.

The compositions by Shiva Feshareki and Margareta Ferek-Petric were commissioned by the ORF musikprotokoll.

Supported by Verwertungsgesellschaft Rundfunk (VGR)