Ensemble Modern
Mirela Ivičević / Milica Djordjević / Petra Strahovnik / Justė Janulytė / Tania León


The Ensemble Modern first came to the musikprotokoll in the late 1980s. One of the young composers of commissioned works at that time, Karlheinz Essl, remarked on what a wonderful opportunity it was to write a piece for the “Rolls Royce” of ensemble music. But the time has come again in 2022, and this time the program will consist exclusively of works by female composers. These include (Austrian) premiere performances from Croatian-Austrian composer Mirela Ivičević and Serbian-German composer Milica Djordjević, as well as from Slovenian artist Petra Strahovnik, Justė Janulytė from Lithuania, and last but not least, Tania León, who was born in Havana in 1943 and has lived in the USA for the last several decades.

8.10., 19:30

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Premieres/Austrian premieres

Day pass 8.10., 18/14 euros

Ensemble Modern
Conductor: David Niemann

The compositions by Mirela Ivičević, Milica Djordjević, and Petra Strahovnik were commissioned by ORF musikprotokoll.

The composition by Justė Janulytė was commissioned by Ensemble Modern, London Sinfonietta, and Casa da Música.

Supported by Verwertungsgesellschaft Rundfunk (VGR)